Community Health Service Area
Health Profile (Version 1.0)

1220 Nelson

Community Health Service Areas (CHSAs) in British Columbia (B.C.) are administrative bounds nested within Local Health Areas (LHAs) as defined by the B.C. Ministry of Health. This CHSA health profile contains information about the community’s demographics, socio-economic and health/disease status as represented through various community health indicators. The purpose of CHSA health profiles is to help B.C.’s primary care network partners, public health professionals and community organizations better understand the health needs of a specific community and to provide evidence for service provisioning and prevention strategies.

Nelson (CHSA 1220) is 4,810 km² in size and is located in southeastern British Columbia. It is comprised of the communities of Slocan, Winlaw, Krestova, Taghum, Balfour, Ymir, Salmo, and Nelway. Geographical features include the Kokanee Range, Bonnington Range, Valkyr Range, and Kootenay Lake. Provincial parks include the following: West Arm, Kokanee Glacier, Valhalla, and Stagleap.[1]

Provided by Health Sector Information, Analysis, and Reporting Division, B.C. Ministry of Health

Health Authority:

1 Interior

Health Service Delivery Area:

12 Kootenay Boundary

Local Health Area:

122 Nelson

Community Health Service Area:

1220 Nelson

Primary Care Network community: