Comox Valley Rural
Community Health Service Area
Health Profile (Version 1.0)

4312 Comox Valley Rural

Community Health Service Areas (CHSAs) in British Columbia (B.C.) are administrative bounds nested within Local Health Areas (LHAs) as defined by the B.C. Ministry of Health. This CHSA health profile contains information about the community’s demographics, socio-economic and health/disease status as represented through various community health indicators. The purpose of CHSA health profiles is to help B.C.’s primary care network partners, public health professionals and community organizations better understand the health needs of a specific community and to provide evidence for service provisioning and prevention strategies.

Comox Valley Rural (CHSA 4312) is 1,640 km² in size and is located on the east coast of central Vancouver Island. It is comprised of Cumberland, Merville, Royston, Union Bay, Fanny Bay, Buckley Bay, Mud Bay, Denman Island, and Hornby Island. Provincial parks include the following: Wood Mountain Ski, Miracle Beach, Sandy Island, Tribune Bay, Rosewall Creek, Helliwell, Mount Geoffrey Escarpment, and Boyle Point.[1]

Provided by Health Sector Information, Analysis, and Reporting Division, B.C. Ministry of Health

Health Authority:

4 Vancouver Island

Health Service Delivery Area:

43 North Vancouver Island

Local Health Area:

431 Comox Valley

Community Health Service Area:

4312 Comox Valley Rural

Primary Care Network community: